Women's soccer begins postseason in Texas

Women's soccer begins postseason in Texas

TACOMA, Washington – The Puget Sound women's soccer team is back in the NCAA D-III Championship for the first time since the 2015 season. Puget Sound begins postseason play in Abilene, Texas, where the Loggers take on host school Hardin-Simmons Saturday, Nov. 10. The game starts at 11 a.m. (PT).

WHO   Puget Sound at Hardin-Simmons (NCAA 1st RD) 
 WHEN   Saturday, Nov. 10 | 11 a.m. (PT)
 WHERE   Abilene, Texas
 LINKS  Stats | Video


The pod

In addition to Puget Sound and Hardin-Simmons, Trinity (Tex.) and Occidental will be in Abilene, Texas this weekend. The advancing teams will play Sunday, Nov. 11, at Hardin-Simmons. 


How the Loggers got here

Puget Sound earned a share of the Northwest Conference crown with Pacific Lutheran, and the Loggers held the tiebreaker to receive the automatic bid for the NCAA Championship. Puget Sound's regular-season finale at Linfield (Nov. 4) was a must-win contest for the Loggers, but the Wildcats held a 2-0 lead at halftime. Puget Sound scored three goals in the final 15 of regulation to claim a share of the NWC title. The Loggers held the tie-breaker over Pacific Lutheran to earn the automatic bid for the NCAA Championship. Gabbie Berg scored Puget Sound's first goal in the 76thminute, and Morton netted the equalizer two minutes later. With five minutes left in regulation, a cross by Berg found Morton, who then drilled the game-winner into the top-left corner of the goal. Puget Sound finished the regular season with a 13-5-2 overall record.


How Hardin-Simmons got here

The Cowgirls are 16-1-1 overall and won the American Southern Conference title. Hardin-Simmons is ranked No. 6 nationally in the most recent United Soccer Coaches poll.


Conference accolades

Puget Sound earned more than a handful of Northwest Conference honors, the NWC announced this week. For the second consecutive season, Jamie Lange was named the NWC Defensive Player of the Year. Kylee Roath earned NWC Freshman of the Year, and Joe Vari was named the NWC Coach of the Year. Lange, Tayla MacPherson, and NWC leading scorer Gabbie Berg were named to the All-NWC First Team. Elizabeth McGraw is an All-NWC Second Team honoree, while freshmen Roath and Tess Carden earned All-NWC Honorable Mention.


Scouting Hardin-Simmons (16-1-1)

The Cowgirls led the ASC in scoring with 64 goals as a team, and Kenne Kessler led the conference with 13 goals. Caitlin Christiansen also had a conference-best 0.33 GAA. Randie Dennis totaled double-digit goals with 11, and Finda Kollie matched Dennison's 22 points with eight goals and six assists.